Thirteen photo tools, and why we'd pick CullTone

CullTone takes a shoot from the card to a client-approved gallery on one flat plan. It culls every photo into Keep, Review or Archive with the reason beside it, edits the keepers, checks them and delivers. Here is how it sits next to the tools photographers ask us about.

Thirteen tools, list prices as shown on each vendor's page. Checked 18 Oct 2026; prices change, so check the vendor's page before you buy. "Yearly" means billed once a year. Tax extra.
ToolPrice signalWhere the work runsPlatformsClient galleries
CullTone$9 to $89 a month, flat; billing not live yetOn your MacmacOS on Apple silicon; web app for reviewIn every plan
AftershootCulling from $10 a month yearly; all three tools $45Your computer, works offlineMac and PCSince June 2026, free plan with 10 GB
ImagenPer photo or unlimited; we couldn't confirm pricesImagen's serversWorks through Lightroom ClassicNone listed
FilterPixelFrom $14.99 a month yearly, 20 DeepCull shoots a yearDeepCull in the cloudWindows and MacNone listed
NarrativeCulling from $10 a month yearlyYour computermacOS and WindowsNone listed
PixiesetGallery from $8 a month yearly; Photo Editor (beta) $12Not stated for the editorDesktop app or browserIts main product
SamaroFrom ₹720 a month (India) or $24 (USD plans)Samaro's cloudWeb, iOS, Android; GradeX desktop for RAWWith WhatsApp delivery and selfie search
Lightroom ClassicUS$11.99 a month on the annual Lightroom planDesktop appDesktop, with Lightroom mobile and webNot checked
Photo Mechanic$149 a year or $299 onceYour computermacOS and WindowsNone listed
Excire FotoOne-time licence; we couldn't confirm the priceYour computer, no cloud partWindows 11, macOS 12 or laterNone listed
EvotoFrom US$80 a year for 800 export creditsNot statedMac and WindowsNone listed
Pic-TimeFree plan; paid from $7 a month yearlyPic-Time's cloudWeb and mobile appIts main product
ShootProofFree plan; paid from $8.33 a month yearlyShootProof's cloudWeb and mobile appIts main product

Why CullTone comes first on our list

One project holds the whole job. The first decisions appear within seconds of the card going in, the same files always give the same piles, and nothing is deleted: Archive is a pile you can always undo.

The keepers go on to the edit with one of 54 looks or your own learned style, then a quality check that flags skin colour shifts and clipped highlights, then a gallery where your client favourites, approves, comments and downloads, so a wedding, a corporate event or a portrait session leaves your desk without a single export to another service.

One price covers it. Plans run from $9 to $89 a month, with no per-photo charge.

Before you sign up. CullTone runs on Macs with Apple silicon, and Windows is not available yet. We're in private beta, and billing isn't live. We haven't published accuracy figures yet.

How we checked: every competitor fact comes from the vendor's own pricing or help pages, read on 18 Oct 2026. Where two of a vendor's pages disagree, the comparison says so. Where we could not read a page, we left the fact out.

Pick a rival

Each page puts one tool next to CullTone and shows what you get by choosing CullTone.

Leaving a tool rather than choosing between two? The alternatives pages start from the reason you want out and show why CullTone is the place to land.